January 30, 2011

AFC • Asian Football Confederation

The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) is the governing body of association football in Asia. It has 46 member countries, mostly located on the Asian continent. Nations with both European and Asian territory, such as Turkey, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Georgia, and Russia, are instead in the UEFA, as are Israel and Armenia, both of which lie entirely in Asia. On the other hand, Australia, formerly in the OFC, has been in the AFC since 2006.
The AFC was founded on 8 May 1954 in Manila, Philippines, and is one of FIFA's six continental confederations. The main headquarters is located in Bukit Jalil, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. The current president is Mohammed Bin Hammam of Qatar.

since 2001

Former Logo: 1954-2001

The AFC Asian Cup is an international association football tournament run by the Asian Football Confederation (AFC). The winning team becomes the champion of Asia and automatically qualifies for the FIFA Confederations Cup.

1 comment:

  1. Surprising background experienced in everything sentence of this article. I made a decent attempt to get hint about how I could demonstrate substance of this blog. I must say, not much powerful but rather I surrendered every one of my weapons soon after understanding it.