March 10, 2010

Delhi 2010 — the 19th Commonwealth Games

Delhi 2010
the 19th Commonwealth Games

Commonwealth Games is a sporting event that takes place after every 4 years. The participating countries are all Commonwealth Countries who were erstwhile British colonies. The games to be hosted by Delhi are 19th on the line with the first commonwealth games taking place in 1930 in Hamilton (Canada) as British Empire Games. The new Avatar of the game took shape in 1974.

The 12 Day sporting extravaganza, biggest in Delhi since 1982 Asiad Games, kickstarts on 3rd October 2010 at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium. 8500 athletes from 85 Commonwealth nations would fight it out for top honours for 17 sporting events.

Mascot: “Shera” — the Royal Bengal Tiger
Logo: — upward spiraling wheel inspired by the Ashok Chakra.
Motto: — "Come out and Play".

No comments:

Post a Comment