December 2, 2010

2018 and 2022 FIFA World Cup — the Bidding Nations

Following the selection of the 2006 World Cup hosts, FIFA had decided on a policy for determining the hosts of future editions. The six world confederations—roughly corresponding to continents—would rotate in their turn of providing bids, for a specific edition, from within their member national associations. This system was used only for the selection of the 2010 (South Africa) and 2014 World Cup (Brazil) hosts, open only to CAF and CONMEBOL

members, respectively.

In September 2007, the rotation system came under review, and a new system was proposed which renders ineligible for bidding only the last two World Cup host confederations.[11] This proposal was adopted on 29 October 2007, in Zürich, Switzerland by FIFA's Executive Committee. Under this policy, a 2018 bid could have come from North America, Asia, Europe, or Oceania, as Africa and South America are ineligible. Likewise, no CONMEBOL member could have made a 2022 bid, and candidates from the same confederation as the successful 2018 applicant will be disregarded in the 2022 selection procedure.

After the United States, the last non-European candidate in the 2018 bidding cycle, withdrew its bid for that year, it now means that the 2018 tournament will be held in Europe. This in turn means that South America and Europe will be ineligible for 2022.

— 2018 Bids
· Belgium and the Netherlands

· England

· Portugal and Spain

· Russia

— 2022 Bids
· Australia

· Japan

· Qatar

· South Korea

· United States

— Cancelled Bids
· Indonesia

· Mexico

No comments:

Post a Comment